How to Enjoy your Flight

Posted: November 30, 2012 in Flight, Travel Tips, Ttavel Tips
Tags: , , , , , , ,

 

Flying is often thought of as a relaxed means of traveling just like cruising. No doubt, it is a largely used means of transportation as sources have it that between 93,000 and 100,000 flights takes off daily at over 9000 airports of the world. With each flight having an assumed average of about 120 passengers, one can say that not less than 11,160,000 people fly around the world.Personally, I’m one of those who like to fly. I enjoy having to seat by the window, preferably close to the wings so that I can catch a perfect glimpse of all the dynamics of movement and have that “I know how it works” feeling. Many people fly for many different reasons ranging for business, luxury and many others but its most certain that for so many reasons too, many flyers enjoy their flight differently. Asides those flight turbulences which often causes scare for non-regular flyers and some aero-phobic peeps, I think every flight should be an enjoyable one.

From time past, I can say that I have been of air for more than 150 times travelling from country to country, state to state and so on and from my experience on several flights, I have been able to identify the best things to do to make my flight an enjoyable one. Trust me, these things work for me and I’m almost certain they will work for anyone. Check out some of the below tips I have come up with on how to enjoy your flight. I have grouped them into two categories: Before you fly and while you fly.

Before you fly

a.       Choose the best airlines

Of course, just as we have some student who performs better than their colleagues, so does it applies with airlines. Some airlines are better than the other without questioning. A large percentage of travelers consider some airlines better than the other simply because of their cabin crew, some because of the services while some because of their prices. Different people with different perception of different airline but I will personally recommend that you make use of this sitewww.airlinequality.com , they will help you with valid information that may help you shape you decision making.

b.      Check-In Online

In this era were almost everything has gone online, the airlines too aren’t left out. Many airlines now provide flyers with options of checking-in online. This will save you the stress of long queues at the airport. Make sure your preferred airline proffers you with online check-in services.

c.       Choose the best seat

This is one thing I really enjoy. I always like the window seats, so does many other flyers. You are in best position to determine the kind of seat position that best suits you. A website that I use is www.seatguru.com , they provide detailed information about all seats on almost all major airlines of the world. You will even find seat maps and reviews and seat ratings.

d.      Cut down your luggage

I know this isn’t easy for many people but it is very good to limit yourself to hand luggage. You will enjoy it when you’re checking-out and you just walk easily out off the airport, there’s no time needed to be wasted while waiting for baggage pick-up and clearance.

e.      Avoid Peak periods

This may not be possible if you are travelling for events, business appointments and all but if it you can play around your travel periods, try as much to avoid peak periods. Here’s the thing, peak periods are usually most stressful and most expensive. There will be too many travelers at the airport and as a result of high flight prices you may have to eat deeply out of your budget.

f.        The almighty formula

Now, you begin to wonder what almighty formula has got to do with flying. The truth is you can circumvent all the above tips just by using this formula. The formula is to “USE A TRAVEL AGENT”. Many times I ask myself why do I need a travel agent and the answer I get is “do I have the time to do all this planning”. At an agreed service charge, a travel agent becomes your shortcut to an enjoyable flight. Do the flying, let them do the planning.

While you fly

a.     Get a book.

Almost everyone claims they don’t usually have time to read. To be honest, I think this is the perfect chance. Get a new book; your kind of book, preferably something light. You don’t want to be stuck in the air and find that the only thing you’ve got to read is “How to survive a plane crash”

b.      Watch the Movies

Many airlines have installed entertainment screens behind every seat which I think is awesome. You have several movies and music albums that have been loaded for your entertainment. Grab the earpiece and watch all you can.

c.     Grab a travel pillow.

These are so often overlooked, but if you want a decent flight, you don’t want to fall asleep in your lap and get a crook in your neck. You also don’t want to wake up halfway through your flight and discover you’ve been napping on your neighbor’s shoulder. That doesn’t make the rest of the flight very comfortable. Some airlines will provide you with a pillow.

d.      Watch what you drink

During your flight, the cabin crew will routinely offer you drinks, snacks and more. It is up to you whether to consume them all. I often advise not to drink just everything given to you. You don’t want to purge while onboard, of course, going back and forth to the bathroom isn’t a good idea too as you will have to disturb those sitting next to you.

e.     Enjoy your time.

All day, we spend time getting busy trying to get things done, answer every call, read and respond to every mails and do a bunch of other unnecessary activities. On your flight, it’s a different ball game, no calls, no mails, nobody to pester you and you have enough time to think and plan. I often share my flight time for different activities; watch movie, check out the cloud scenery intermittently, reflect on my thoughts and write down my plans. It’s such a quality time on air, enjoy it.

I hope you find these tips helpful. Feel free to submit your own tips, I’m curios to discover new methods.

How to Enjoy your Flight.

Leave a Reply

